India is hosting the 17th Fifa Under-17 Football World Cup 2017 for the first time. The tournament opener is on October 6 and the final is on October 28. The U-17 world cup is a prestigious event that gives a glimpse of the world footballers of tomorrow.

Fifa Under-17 World Cup India 2017

From October 6 to October 28.

24 Teams

6 Groups

Group A B C D E F
India Paraguay Iran North Korea Honduras Iraq
United States Mali Guinea Niger Japan Mexico
Colombia New Zealand Germany Brazil New Caledonia Chile
Ghana Turkey Costa Rica Spain France England

6 venues:

Sl No. Place Venue Permitted no. of seats
1 New Delhi Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium 59,000
2 Navi Mumbai DY Patil Sports Stadium 54,000
3 Margao Fitorda Stadium 19,000
4 Kochi Jawaharlal Nehru International Stadium 41,748
5 Guwahati Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium 28,500
6 Kolkata Salt Lake Stadium 66,687

52 games to be played to decide the winner.

Final: October 28, Salt Lake Stadium, Kolkata.

Reigning champions Nigeria are not playing after failing to reach the final round of the CAF qualifying tournament.

Major teams and strong group opponents:

India (Group A): United States, Colombia, Ghana

Germany (Group C): Iran, Costa Rica

Brazil (Group D): Spain, North Korea

Spain (Group D): Brazil, North Korea

Japan (Group E): France, Honduras

France (Group E): Japan, Honduras

Mexico (Group F): Iraq, England

England (Group F): Iraq, Mexico

Related post: Right in India, watch Messis, Neymars and Ronaldos of future